Visas and work permits: what are the rules for artists touring in Europe after Brexit?

More than half of EU Member States have agreed to offer UK musicians and performers visa and work permit-free travel, it has been confirmed.

The Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport (DCMS) said the agreement will give UK artists the confidence to continue performing in Europe.

Here’s everything you need to know.

What is the agreement?

Following the end of the transition period, 20 EU member states have agreed to continue offering UK artists visa and work permit-free travel (usually up to three months).

This will enable musicians, performers, and other creative professionals to tour abroad easily without facing legal barriers.

Who do the rules apply to?

The rules apply to touring performers (such as soloists, groups, orchestras, dancers, actors, comedians, magicians, circus artists and singers) and support staff (such as sound engineers, technicians, directors, choreographers, producers, and agents).

Which countries are offering visa and work permit-free travel?

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, and Sweden.

Which countries are not offering visa and work permit-free travel?

Spain, Croatia, Greece, Portugal, Bulgaria, Malta and Cyprus.

The Government said it is “actively engaging” with these countries and calling on them to align their arrangements with the UK’s rules.

Are there any other requirements?

Durations and requirements vary from Member State to Member State. The Government has created a checklist to help touring artists navigate Europe, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland or Liechtenstein.

Get advice today

For help and advice with related matters, please get in touch with our team today.

Get in touch

Get in Touch

If you would like to see full details of our data practices please visit our Privacy Notice.